Tuesday, February 7, 2017

They win the polar music prize In 2017 – financial times

Musician Sting and Wayne Shorter wins the polar music prize

the Prize celebrates music in all its forms.

one of the price goes to the jazz musician Wayne Shorter, the other to Sting.

Jazz unites them.

But while the Wayne Shorter is one of the genre’s giants went Sting (Gordon Sumner) on to The Police and solo career in new wave and pop rock.

Now honored the two with this year’s Polarpris, which is awarded in a ceremony in June.

Wayne Shorter was born in Newark, New Jersey, and has a 60-year long solo career bakomsig as well as groups such as Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers, Miles Davis Second Great Quintet and Weather Report, and cooperation with Joni Michell.

"With his saxophone, he is a been travelling. During an extraordinary career, he has with his courage and his visionary ears all the time applied to the unexplored paths. As a solo artist, he has done the album for six decades, and has written a number of jazzhistoriens most outslitliga compositions. Without tonutforskaren Wayne Shorter had the modern music is not drilled as deep," writes Polarpriskommittén in their justification.

Protect the rain forests with the wife

Sting gets the prize for having the "combined classic pophantverk with virtuoso musikantskap and an openness for all genres, and all of the world’s sounds".

"inner and outer travel have also influenced his music. As a member of the trio The Police, and then as a solo artist, Sting has never settled down and lived on old merits, but anchored in the more musical ports than perhaps any other artist of his generation," wrote the prize committee in its citation.

“I am honored to receive the polar music prize, we will see you in Stockholm in June,” he said in a video message to the awards committee.

He is also known for his work for human rights through Band Aid, Live Aid, Amnesty international and regnskogsskyddsorganisation he founded with his wife.

– Sting has made amazing songs, just for that he’s worth the price. If you listen to his songs when someone else is in front of them reveals the quality of the reframing. Both are musical seeker, they have never been satisfied with the other established without the searched on. They were very happy and they will both hit in June, says Alfons Karabuda, chairman of the Polar Music Prize Awards prize committee.

the Expert judge out the choice

Nöjesbladets musikexpert Markus Larsson ruled out if the Sting of that, not unreasonable but still boring ,and suggested the artists should have received it before him, Aretha Franklin for example.

– I get excited over the attention and taking the time to nominate several. That is exactly what we want, ” says Alfons Karabuda.

do you Have a list of the desired prize winners who have turned down the offer?

– We have no waiting list. We have no formal requirement that a winner must come. It would be boring if a prize winner to relinquish the prize, but we have never been through such a situation, ” he says.


Previous winners

2017 Wayne Shorter and Sting

2016 Max Martin and Cecilia Bartoli

2015 Emmylou Harris and Evelyn Glennie

2014 Peter Sellars and Chuck Berry

2013 Kaija Saariaho and Yossou N'Dour

2012 Yo-Yo Ma and Paul Simon

2011 Kronos Quartet and Patti Smith

2010 Ennio Morricone and Björk

2009 José Antonio Abreu & El Sistema and Peter Gabriel

2008 Renée Fleming and Pink Floyd

2007 Steve Reich and Sonny Rollins

2006 Valery Gergiev and Led Zeppelin

2005 Gilberto Gil and Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau

2004 B. B. King and György Ligeti

2003 Keith Jarrett

2002 Sofia Gubaidulina and Miriam Makeba

2001 Burt Bacharach, Robert Moog and Karlheinz Stockhausen

2000 Bob Dylan and Isaac Stern

1999 Stevie Wonder and Iannis Xenakis

1998 Ray Charles and Ravi Shankar

1997 Eric Ericson and Bruce Springsteen

1996 Pierre Boulez and Joni Mitchell

1995 Sir Elton John and Mstislav Rostropovich

1994 Nikolaus Harnoncourt and Quincy Jones

1993 Dizzy Gillespie and Witold Lutoslawski

1992 Sir Paul McCartney and The Baltic States


No comments:

Post a Comment