Monday, November 28, 2016

Lina Wolff awarded this year Augustpris – Expressen

The prestigious August prize in literature went this year to Lina Wolff, 43, for her book “The polyglotta lovers”.

Something she was not at all set.

“I’m pretty skrockfull so I have not prepared any speech,” she said as she accepted the prize.

the August prize was handed out in three categories, and the authors received awards in the Stockholm city Hall.

– I wrote about Ellinor, who comes from a small village in Skåne and go to Stockholm, there to meet with a large and very dangerous city. It is not so good, it becomes a rather disastrous meeting, ” said Lina Wolff, who has written the best Swedish fiction book.

” When I wrote it so I had not imagined that the same character would take me here today.

“The smart literary byggverket”

the Book had already been produced by Per. of Expressen, who wrote:

“I am rather amused by how nicely she carries out the criticism and is sucked into the smart literary byggverket. I enjoy the secure the style.”

Nina Burton was commended in the category best Swedish non-fiction book with his work “Gutenberggalaxens nova. A essäberättelse of Erasmus of Rotterdam, humanism and the 1500-century medierevolution”.

And for the book “Ten over” was Ann-Helén Laestadius the August prize for best Swedish children – and youth.

Little August

the Prize money for each category is 100 000 sek and the award winners also get a bronsstatyett. The August prize will usually also mean a upplagelyft. Many people want to read this year vinnarbok – or give it away as a christmas gift.

the Little August prize, for which prize money is sek 15 000, went to Sigrid Nikka who wrote “When rallarrosen bloom”.

the Jury said in its justification that it is a “delicate story that is understated and credible allow us to follow a woman’s unexpected departure during the bygone era”.

August is one of Sweden’s most prestigious and high-profile literary awards and has been named after the author August Strindberg. The prize was established in 1989 and exists to focus on, and reward, the best newly published books in English each year.

A jury in each category to nominate six titles were – then read the nominated books of the 63 electors scattered throughout the country. A third of them are booksellers, one-third librarians and one-third literary critic. Then voted, and a winner is chosen.

Last year Augustpris in the literary class were handed out to the Jonas Hassen Khemiri for the book “Everything I do not recall”.


No comments:

Post a Comment