Friday, November 25, 2016

She may be this year Eyvind Johnson-price – Västerbottens-kuriren (the Courier)

Majgull Axelsson awarded this year Eyvind Johnson prize.

"By telling about people, who in the past lost their place in the communities, she gives the reader insights on what is happening now and can happen again. Her own resonant style of fiction, penetrates deeply to the reader", writes the jury in its motivation.

the Prize is awarded every two years and was instituted by Boden municipality in 1988 to honor the memory of Bodenfödde the author Eyvind Johnson (1900-1976). Eyvind Johnson was a member of the Swedish Academy in 1957 and received the Nobel prize in literature in 1974 together with Harry Martinson.

Also, Sara Stridsberg and Steve Sem-Sandberg was nominated for the prize. Among the prize’s previous recipients are Elisabeth Rynell and Johan Jönson.


No comments:

Post a Comment